NEWAYGO, MICH. - It's the Fourth of July -- one of the 10 federal holiday's that permits fireworks in Michigan.
However, setting off fireworks are only allowed the day before, of and after the holiday.
Aaron Johnson, from Newaygo, tells us that ordinance did not stop people in his neighborhood from firing off fireworks all weekend.
So, as a reminder to keep your neighbors happy and avoid getting an up to $500 citation, follow these rules:
- Individuals must be 18 years or older to operate fireworks
- Fireworks can only be set off from 8:00p.m. to 1:00 a.m. (in most areas, excluding Grand Rapids where it is until Midnight)
- Do not operate fireworks under any influence
- Only set off fireworks on personal property, unless granted explicit permission otherwise (that means no sidewalks, parking lots or schools).
Sgt. Terry Dixon of the Grand Rapids Police Department said that when they receive noise complaints outside of those allotted times, they will respond. In 2016, the department wrote 28 citations for firework related violations.
For more details on the laws in Michigan, visit their website.
►Make it easy to keep up to date with more stories like this. Download the WZZM 13 app now.
© 2018 WZZM-TV