SBA issues disaster declaration for Newaygo, Osceola counties

LANSING, Mich. (WZZM) -- Residents and businesses in Newaygo and Osceola counties whose property was damaged in April's flooding are now eligible for low-interest loans from the US Small Business Administration.

On Monday, the SBA declared a physical disaster in those counties. The declaration follows Governor Snyder's request made on June 18.

The SBA is opening temporary Disaster Loan Outreach Centers where people can apply for the loans, starting Tuesday. The centers are at the Newaygo Public Schools Learning Center East Building and at the Osceola County Commission on Aging in Evart. The centers are open through July 2. Learn more at this link.

People can also apply online or by mail.

Additionally, the disaster declaration offers assistance to affected residents and businesses in adjacent counties.

The Governor issued a state-level disaster declaration on April 17 for Newaygo and Osceola counties, and amended it to include Isabella, Mecosta, Missaukee, Muskegon, Roscommon and Wexford counties on May 7.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment