(GRAND RAPIDS BUSINESS JOURNAL) -- As of Monday, the minimum wage rate in Michigan has gone up from $7.40 to $8.15 an hour.
According to the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, this is the first rate increase in six years.
The change in state law marks the beginning of a gradual 25 percent increase of the minimum wage that will result in $9.25 per hour by 2018.
Passed May 27, it is officially called the Workforce Opportunity Wage Act, Public Act 138 of 2014, and is enforced by the Wage and Hour Program in the Technical Services Division of the Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Administration.
For more on this story, visit the Grand Rapids Business Journal's website.